Amanecer y Palomitas

Twilight and popcorn. Yep, last night I went to go see Twilight: Breaking Dawn, Part I at a cinema in the Nervión neighborhood of Sevilla. (AND they had popcorn, which was a night-maker in itself.) As mentioned in my Thanksgiving post, my family usually goes to see the newest Harry Potter during this holiday weekend. However, since that wouldn’t even be a possibility were I in the States, Twilight in Spanish was an adequate alternative and actually a really fun time.

This newest Twilight film opened last weekend, and I happened to be at the Nervión Plaza then, picking up my ticket for a Sevilla soccer game. (The Sevilla FC stadium is directly across the street from the mall/cinema.) Let me tell you, tweens here get just as excited about Edward and Jacob as they do in America. The line for the movie on opening weekend was gigantic and scream-y. Thankfully, this weekend it was a little quieter and we didn’t have to wait in line for our tickets or to get into the theater itself.

Movies in Spanish are generally pretty tough for me to understand, because of the pace of the dialogue. Luckily, I’ve read the first Twilight book and seen the first movie, so I at least had a vague idea of plot line. Also helpful: the Twilight films rely heavily on brooding stares and lengthy “pregnant” pauses (if you watch the film, you’ll laugh at that.) Seriously, I think there were two smiles throughout the whole movie.

So much angst

Watching the movie made me wish I’d read through the whole trilogy so I’d know exactly what was happening, but overall it was pretty easy to follow. I wasn’t blown away by the acting or the animated talking wolves that showed up in the middle of the movie. What I did enjoy was simply going to see a movie with friends, something I miss from back home. The experience reminded me of a quote I really like. I think it’s funny and (sorry, Twi-hard fans) accurate:

“Harry Potter is about confronting fears, finding inner strength and doing what is right in the face of adversity. Twilight is about how important it is to have a boyfriend.”

-Stephen King

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other subscriber